2014 KC Quills Award Winners

2014 KC/IABC Kansas City Quills Winning Companies

Best of Show

  • Midwest Dairy Association – Dairy Farmers Celebrate Feedin’ A Nation

Communication Management 

Advocacy Communication

Award of Excellence

  • Kansas Action for Children – Kansas Dental Project Postcard Project; Lauren Beatty

Corporate Social Responsibility

Award of Excellence

  • Midwest Dairy Association – Dairy Farmers Feedin’ A Nation; Midwest Dairy Association

Customer Relations

Award of Merit

  • KCP&L – Improving our KCP&L customer newsletter; Margie Paxton, Kristi Suderman, Scott Sutherland, Nita Norris, Prentiss Shane, Clara Miller, Katie McDonals

Employee Engagement

Award of Merit

  • Burns & McDonnell – 2013 United Way Campaign; Lindsay Podreberac, Alan Burchardt, Lee Orrison, Maggie Miller, Robb Barbur
  • J.P. Morgan – J.P. Morgan Savings & Investing Experience; J.P. Morgan
  • J.P. Morgan – J.P. Morgan Savings & Investing Experience; Kelly Abalos

HR and Benefits Communications

Award of Excellence

  • J.P. Morgan – J.P. Morgan On-Track-To-Receive and Quick Enroll Campaign; J.P. Morgan

Award of Merit

  • J.P. Morgan – J.P. Morgan Savings & Investing Experience; J.P. Morgan

Internal Communications

Award of Merit

  • Sprint Corp. – i-Connect 2.0-Connecting Users to What Matters; Susan M. Kreifel and Sprint Team

Nonprofit Campaigns

Award of Merit

  • Burns & McDonnell – 2013 Battle of the Brains; Brady Ritter, Brandon Guffey, Carrie Plummer, Linda Segebrecht, Julee Koncak, Darla Amstein

Social Media Programs

Award of Merit

  • PKD Foundation – PKD Foundation Social Media Program; Angela Connelly, Sara Kriszka, Mark Solis, Mary Young

Communication Skills

Audio Visual

Award of Merit

  • Cerner Corporation – It Starts With Me Video; Melissa Hendricks, Sarah Bond, Molly Staats

Digital Communication Channels

Award of Merit

  • Pioneer Services – Pioneer Services Learning Center; Pioneer Services

Marketing, Advertising and Sales Vehicles

Award of Excellence

  • Burns & McDonnell – Food & Consumer Products Campaign; Lee Orrison, Mark Fagan, Joe Bathke


Publication Design

Award of Merit

  • candid marketing+communications – Southwest Johnson County Economic Development 2013 Annual Report: A Year in Development; Sara Freetly-Grubb, Kara Brock


Award of Excellence

  • Cerner Corporation – A Tale of Two Cindy’s; Nicholas Fink

Award of Merit

  •  HNTB – Designer Magazine; Susan Rhode, Pat Mosher, Ron Michka

Special Events – External

Award of Merit

  • Cerner Corporation – Cerner Health Conference 2013 – Stacy Huggins, Morgan Kenney, Amanda Ehrhard, Shannon McClendon, Jackie VanFundy, Sarah Bond, Melissa Hendricks
  • Cerner Corporation – HIMSS14 Annual Conference and Exhibition; Melissa Hendricks, Sarah Bond, Leslie Mullins, Molly Staats, Melissa Cartmill, Kelsey McManimie


Special Awards

Each year at the Kansas City Quills, KC/IABC honors outstanding members of the communications community with the following special individual awards. These individuals are nominated by their industry peers.

Rising Star Award (2004-present)
Volunteer of the Year Award (1992 to present)
Entrepreneur of the Year Award (2006-present)
Floyd Walker Incredible Award (1980-present)
Arthur E. Lowell Award recipients (1982 to present)